Rachmaninoff & Dvořák

Mar 9th 2024

  • Time7:30 PM to 2:00 PM
Lidiya Yankovskaya, conductor
Joyce Yang, piano

Sergei Rachmaninoff’s towering Piano Concerto No. 2 opens with pulse-pounding passion, soothes you in the sentimental middle movement and sets you on the edge of your seat with its fiendishly difficult finale featuring the return of the sensational pianist Joyce Yang, a laureate of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. Guest conductor Lidiya Yankovskaya leads The Phoenix Symphony in Jesse Montgomery’s Hymn for Everyone, a meditation for orchestra full of washes of colors and timbre, and in Antonín Dvořák’s cheery and lyrical Symphony No. 8, inspired by the Bohemian folk music of his native land.
Concert Repertoire
Jessie Montgomery: Hymn for Everyone
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2
Dvořák: Symphony No. 5
  • Location Symphony Hall
  • 75 N Second Street
  • Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Recommended Partners

This is a subheading

This is a heading

This is a summary.