Mozart & Shostakovich: The Power of 10

Apr 26th – Apr 28th

  • Time7:30 PM to 2:00 PM
Tito Muñoz, conductor
Michael Stephen Brown, piano
Adam Golka, piano
Michael Adams, baritone

Dmitri Shostakovich struggled his entire life to maintain his integrity as an artist while also serving the Soviet state as required. His 10th Symphony, completed after the death of dictator Joseph Stalin, was a balancing act as well as a mid-life crisis set to music. The Phoenix Symphony welcomes pianists Michael Stephen Brown and Adam Golka to play Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos (No. 10), which Mozart composed for himself and his sister, Maria Anna, to perform. Tito Muñoz conducts the world premiere of a new piece by multidisciplinary artist Annie Nikunen exploring the connections between movement and sound.
Concert Repertoire
Annie Nikunen: the sound of space beyond us
Mozart: Concerto for Two Pianos
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10
  • Location Symphony Hall
  • 75 N Second Street
  • Phoenix, Arizona 85004

Recommended Partners


Cities & Regions

From the abundance of Saguaro cactuses and unique wildlife in the Sonoran Desert to the high country and forests of the White Mountains to the breathtaking Grand Canyon, Arizona’s regions are full of experiences that don’t disappoint.