Mature Masterpieces by Mozart & Rachmaninoff

Nov 17th

  • Time7:30 PM
José Luis Gomez, conductor
Rachel Barton Pine, violin

Enjoy music by composers at the pinnacle of their powers but also near the end of their days. Mozart’s Overture to The Magic Flute sets the scene for his final opera, which debuted just nine weeks before his death. Guest conductor José Luis Gomez whips up a frenzy of emotion with Rachmaninoff’s tumultuous Symphonic Dances, brimming with nostalgia for 19th century Russia. The eminent violinist Rachel Barton Pine returns to The Phoenix Symphony as soloist for the Violin Concerto No. 2 composed by Florence Price, the first African-American woman to have a symphony performed by a major orchestra.
Concert Repertoire
Mozart: The Magic Flute: Overture, K. 620
Florence Price: Violin Concerto No. 2
Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances
  • Location Ikeda Theatre
  • 1 E Main Street
  • Mesa, Arizona 85201

Recommended Partners

This is a subheading

This is a heading

This is a summary.