Sign up for Travel News

  • 09.03

    Cool Summer Nights at the Desert Museum: Fiesta Fin de Verano

  • 09.03

    Jerome Art Walk

  • 09.03

    Movies on the Square: Hotel Transylvania 1 & 2 (Double Feature)

Full Event Calendar
  • Northern Arizona Highlights - Hotel/Lodge Based Hiking Tour

    6 nights 7 days - Hotel/Lodge Based Hiking/Walking Tour

  • "Awesome Arizona" Motorcycle Tour

    7 Day / 8 Night guided motorcycle tour of all that is great about Arizona! From $2,995

More Travel Deals
My Destinations Chat


Governor Jan Brewer and Tourism Industry Honor Leaders at Arizona Governors Conference on Tourism

July 10, 2009

July 10, 2009


Media Contacts:

Kiva Couchon
AOT Communications Manager
(602) 364-3724 Office
(480) 305-3393 Cell


Governor Jan Brewer and Tourism Industry Honor Leaders at Arizona Governor’s Conference on Tourism

PHOENIX (July 10, 2009) – Governor Jan Brewer joined members of the Arizona tourism industry to recognize and honor industry leaders at the 2009 Governor’s Conference on Tourism. Arizona Office of Tourism (AOT) Director Sherry Henry and Deputy Director Mark Stanton presented the awards along with the Governor during the Awards Luncheon at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa in Scottsdale.

Before the awards ceremony, Governor Brewer spoke to more than 500 tourism industry members from both the private and public sector on how the Arizona tourism industry provides stability and strength to the state’s economy.

“Across the state, from the metropolitan areas to rural communities, the economic vitality and sustainability of the tourism industry is critical to the future of our state’s economy,” said Governor Brewer. “Tourism has important links to so many aspects of our state, from transportation, smart growth, the environment and the economy, tourism is a key element in charting the future course of Arizona.”

Sixty-three nominations were submitted for the 10 award categories. Winners were selected on general evaluation of qualifications such as exceptional efforts, innovation, uniqueness and measurable results. The judging committee was comprised of a selection of tourism industry representatives from around the state and AOT staff.

Awards were presented in the following categories: Innovative Promotions, Cooperative Marketing, Special Events (Rural and Urban) and Arizona Preservation. AOT also honored individual achievements in the categories of Tourism Champion of the Year, Tourism Hall of Fame, Spirit of Service and a Special Recognition award.

Winners are listed below:

  • Innovative Promotions – Copper Corridor Ore Cart Trail
  • Cooperative Marketing – Cochise Origins
  • Arizona Preservation – Yuma Crossing Heritage Management Area
  • Special Events – Rural – Gold Rush Days, Wickenburg
  • Special Events – Urban – NBA, All Star Game - Phoenix
  • Spirit of Service – Individual – Mia Yates, The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
  • Spirit of Service – Group – Intergenerational Volunteers, Camp Verde
  • Tourism Champion of the Year – Mark Grenoble, Enchantment Resort and Group
  • Tourism Hall of Fame – Robert Brinton, Mesa Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Special Recognition – Ken Travous, Former Executive Director, Arizona State Parks

The conference, held July 9 – 10, was sponsored by AOT, the Arizona Hotel & Lodging Association, the Arizona Restaurant Association and the Arizona Tourism Alliance. The complete list of past winners is posted at

About AOT
Created as an executive agency in 1975, the Arizona Office of Tourism is charged with enhancing the state economy and the quality of life for all Arizonans by expanding travel activity and increasing related revenues through tourism promotion and development. AOT works to serve the Grand Canyon States travel industry and related businesses, the traveling public, and the taxpayers of Arizona. For more information, visit

- 30 -

Bookmark and Share
Rocket Fuel