Sign up for Travel News

  • 11.27

    Ornament Marketplace

  • 11.27

    45th Annual Sun City Fall Arts and Crafts Festival

  • 11.27

    14th Annual “Chairs of Bisbee” Art Chair Auction

Full Event Calendar
  • Los Angeles - 2016 Baseball Spring Training Schedule Is Out – And Wiles West Travel Provides…

    a variety of stress free, all inclusive, Spring Training Packages to get you to the games and more. Tailored to fit your schedule - one price - no hidden costs or fees. Spring Training Done Right.

  • Guided Motorcycle Day Tours

    Guided motorcycle day tours of Phoenix and surrounding areas. From $125

More Travel Deals
My Destinations Chat


Arizona Governor and Tourism Industry Honor Leaders at Arizona Governor’s Conference on Tourism

July 15, 2010

Governor Jan Brewer joined members of the Arizona tourism industry to recognize and honor industry leaders at the 30th Annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism.  Governor Brewer along with Arizona Office of Tourism (AOT) Director Sherry Henry and Deputy Director Mark Stanton presented the awards during the Governor’s Awards Luncheon at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort in Tucson.

Before the awards ceremony, Governor Brewer spoke to more than 300 tourism industry members from both the private and public sector on how the Arizona tourism industry provides stability and strength to the state’s economy. Additionally, the governor acknowledged the recent challenges the industry had been hit by and announced plans to support an advertising campaign to encourage national and international visitation to Arizona. Funding for the campaign will be arranged through public and private sectors and managed through the Arizona Office of Tourism.

Nominations for the awards were submitted for the 10 award categories. Winners were selected on general evaluation of qualifications such as exceptional efforts, innovation, uniqueness and measurable results. The judging committee was comprised of a selection of tourism industry representatives from around the state and AOT staff. 

Awards were presented in the following categories: Innovative Promotions, Cooperative Marketing, Special Events (Rural and Urban) and Arizona Preservation. AOT also honored individual
achievements in the categories of Tourism Champion of the Year, Tourism Hall of Fame, Spirit of Service and Special Recognition awards.

Winners are listed below:

  • Innovative Promotions – Flagstaff Convention and Visitors Bureau 
  • Cooperative Marketing – Arizona Rocks
  • Arizona Preservation – Arizona Culturekeepers Program – The Westin Kierland Resort &Spa
  • Green Tourism – FireSky Resort & Spa Earthcare Program
  • Special EventsRural – United States Arizona Capitol Christmas Tree Event
  • Special EventsUrban – Heard Museum Guild Indian Fair & Market
  • Spirit of ServiceIndividual – Reuben Stoller, Radisson Woodlands Hotel
  • Spirit of ServiceGroup – Navigation Volunteers, Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport
  • Tourism Champion of the Year – Mitch Nichols
  • Tourism Hall of Fame – Greg Gilstrap
  • Special Recognition(2) – Tucson Rodeo Parade & Prescott’s World Oldest Rodeo

The conference, held July 12 – 14, was sponsored by AOT, the Arizona Hotel & Lodging Association, the Arizona Restaurant Association and the Arizona Tourism Alliance. The complete list of past winners is posted at

About the Arizona Office of Tourism
Created as an executive agency in 1975, the Arizona Office of Tourism is charged with enhancing the state economy and the quality of life for all Arizonans by expanding travel activity and increasing related revenues through tourism promotion and development. AOT works to serve the Grand Canyon State’s travel industry and related businesses, the traveling public, and the taxpayers of Arizona.


Bookmark and Share
Rocket Fuel